The Boys Varsity Soccer Program is one of the oldest and most successful athletic programs at Montverde Academy.  Originally founded in the fall of 1932, the first season in the history of the program witnessed competitive matches against the University of Florida in Gainesville as regular season contests.  Over the next few decades, the program would evolve into a high level program that was well respected throughout Central Florida and the southern region of the United States.

Throughout its history, the Montverde Academy Boys Varsity Soccer Program has had a number of head coaches who have contributed to the foundation upon which the program has been built.  In 1963, current faculty member Arnaldo Carlo-Melendez took over as coach and led the team to its first Winter Soccer State Series Semi-Final finals.  Coach Daniel Thompson would then take over in 1998 and would win a FHSAA District Championship.  In 2003, Mr. Chuck Monteleone took over and the Eagles won 7 consecutive FHSAA District Championships, 5 FHSAA Regional Championships, and went to the FHSAA States Series 3 times including two consecutive State Runner-Up titles.

In 2010, Head Coach Mike Potempa accepted the head coaching position at Montverde Academy and brought the program to new heights as they finished the 2010-11 Varsity soccer season unbeaten for the first time in school history with an overall record of 26 wins, 0 losses, and 1 draw.  The Eagles finished ranked as the #1 team in Central Florida by the Orlando Sentinel, the # 1 team in the State of Florida according the ESPN Rise Magazine, and were crowned #1 National Champions by ESPN Rise Magazine and the Powerade Fab 50.  In April of 2011, ESPN made a special a visit to the campus of Montverde Academy to present the Eagles with their first ever National Championship trophy in front of the student body, faculty, and staff and were featured live on ESPN SportsCenter for their national achievement.

As a result of the program’s first ever ESPN Rise National Championship in 2011, the Eagles were recognized as the preseason #1 high school team in the nation by ESPN Rise Magazine for the 2011-12 winter season and finished the year with an overall record of 23 wins, 0 losses, and 4 draws.  The Boys Varsity Soccer Program was recognized as the #1 high school program in the country for 2011-12 by MaxPreps.com.  For the second consecutive year under Head Coach Mike Potempa, the entire Senior Class of 2012 signed athletic specific scholarships at NCAA and NAIA institutions.  2012 also marked the first ever Montverde Academy Soccer Tournament (M.A.S.T.) held at MVA's state-of-the-art athletic complex where the Eagles were victorious over in-state rival American Heritage-Delray by a final score of 3-1.  Alex Anyaegbunam was unanimously voted the tournament's most valuable player and, with the victory, the Eagles were once again recognized as the #1 team in the United States by ESPN Rise Magazine.

In 2012, the MVA Boys Varsity Soccer Program was recognized once again as the preseason #1 high school program in the country and it has not relinquished its position ever since.  The Eagles would go on to be crowned consensus #1 National Champions according to the NSCAA and SIMA Fab 50 National Polls for the 2012-13, 2013-14, and 2014-15 seasons and currently holds the nation’s longest unbeaten record which currently stands at 137 wins, 0 losses, and 7 draws dating all the way back to October 2010.

Taking pride in true holistic development, the Montverde Academy Boys Soccer Program has been instrumental in preparing and assisting over 80 student athletes and their families for collegiate scholarship opportunities at the NCAA and NAIA levels after graduation.

Furthermore, the program has also witnessed four student athletes in the past four years who have signed professional contracts at 18 years of age after graduating from Montverde Academy.

  • Oumar Diakhite (’12) originally signed his first pro contract with S.C. Olhanense of the Portuguese 1st Division and now is currently playing in the Premeira Liga of Portugal for G.D. Estoril Praia after joining the club in 2015.
  • Luka Vujanovic (’13) signed a professional contract with FK Lovcen of the Montenegrin First League in 2013 after graduating from MVA.
  • Pape Gassama (’15) signed his first professional contract with US Creteil-Lusitanos in Ligue 2 of France in 2015
  • Deibi Flores('13" signed to Vancouver Whitecaps
  • Matheus Silva (’15) was the first professional signing from Montverde Academy to play in Major League Soccer (MLS) for the San Jose Earthquakes.  Silva joined the club after graduation during the 2015 summer transfer window and is the youngest international signing in franchise history at 18 years of age.  After graduating in June of 2015, Silva played his first two professional matches in July against Club America and Manchester United in front of sell out crowds of 20,000 plus.
  • Weiner Riascos ('15) playing for AD Alcorcon – Spain
  • Moustapha Dabo ('15) playing for US Creteil-Lusitanos – League  2 in France
  • Amang Olivier ('16) signed his first professional contract with Molde FK of the Norwegian Top Division.

The MVA Boys Varsity Soccer Program has seen many changes throughout its 80 year history, yet the future continues to look bright for the Eagles moving forward with player development at the forefront and success on a national scale now the standard.

Below is a comprehensive list of NCAA Division I, II, III, and NAIA Colleges and Universities who have visited the campus of Montverde Academy to recruit student athletes on the Boys Varsity Soccer Team since August of 2010.

Anderson University Loyola University of Chicago University of Dayton
Appalachian State University Marquette University University of Denver
Barry University Memphis University University of Great Falls
Belhaven University Mercer University University of Illinois at Chicago
Catawba College Oregon State University University of Kentucky
Clemson University Palm Beach Atlantic University University of Maryland
Coker College Penn State University University of Mobile
Cornell University Radford University University of New Mexico
East Tennessee State University Rollins College University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Elizabethtown College SUNY Binghamton University of North Carolina-Charlotte
Embry Riddle Aeronautical University Santa Clara University University of North Carolina-Greensboro
Flagler College Southeastern University University of North Carolina-Wilmington
Florida Gulf Coast University Southern Methodist University University of North Florida
Florida Institute of Technology Spartanburg Methodist University University of South Carolina
Florida International University St. John's University University of Tampa
Florida Southern College St. Leo University University of Tulsa
Fordham University St. Louis Univeristy University of West Florida
Francis Marion University Syracuse University University of Wisonsin Milwaukee
Fresno Pacific University Thiel College Virginia Commonwealth University
Georgia Southern University Thomas University Virginia Tech University
Jacksonville University Trinity University Webber International University
Liberty University University of Akron Winthrop University
Lincoln Memorial University University of Central Florida Wright State University
Lindsey Wilson College

Highlight Video